Heidelberg University Association




HAUS 13th National Meeting


Group shot of
          virtual Kaffeeklatsch

 

We are pleased to announce the online event series for the HAUS 13th National Meeting! Due to the global COVID-19 pandemic, we are unable to meet in person this year. Instead, we are taking advantage of this new format to expand our offerings. We have collaborated with alumni and partners to provide a multifaceted range of events for you to enjoy #zuHAUSe.

 

All events are free of charge and open to all HAUS members and alumni, but you will need to register for each event to receive the login information.

 

We look forward to seeing you throughout October!

 

Friday, October 2

5pm Pacific/8pm Eastern/2.00 MEZ
1 hour

 

HAUS National Meeting Kick-Off Cocktail Reception

BYOB(everage) and join fellow HAUS members for a casual, festive, cocktail-style opening event.

Register here

 

 

Sunday, October 4

10am Pacific/1pm Eastern/19.00 MEZ
1 hour

 

Internationale Kaffeestunde

Wir möchten ganz herzlich alle Alumni der Universität Heidelberg zu einer internationalen Kaffeestunde einladen. Dies ist eine großartige Gelegenheit sich mit Ehemaligen der Universität Heidelberg aus aller Welt auszutauschen. Wir freuen uns, wenn wir Sie zu einem Kaffee oder Aperitif, je nach Ihrer Tageszeit, begrüßen dürfen. Unsere Kaffeestunde ist eine kostenlose virtuelle Veranstaltung und wird auf Deutsch stattfinden.

Register here




October 8
Exact time TBD
1 hour

 

A “Law and Order” Election: The Criminal Justice System and Political Discourse

In current polls, the criminal justice system is one of the top three issues Americans are concerned about in the upcoming elections. Heidelberg University Association and American Council on Germany are proud to feature Staten Island NY District Attorney, former U. S. Congressman, and Heidelberg alumnus Michael McMahon in conversation with Annett Meiritz, a U.S. Correspondent for the Handelsblatt Media Group based in Washington DC. Please join us for a discussion on the unprecedented way in which decisions being made by local police and prosecutors are taking on a national dimension.

Registration coming soon. - Mark your calendars!




Friday, October 9
10am Pacific/1pm Eastern/19.00 MEZ

 

Resume vs. Lebenslauf Writing

Applying for jobs in Germany and the U.S. typically requires documents with different conventions. Friend of Heidelberg University Association Tommy Ruether will walk attendees through the basics of each document to help them put their best foot forward for their next job application.

Register here

 


Saturday, October 10

7am Pacific/10am Eastern/16.00 MEZ
1 hour

 

HAUS Jahreshauptversammlung

Annual HAUS business meeting with updates on HAUS activities and the latest news from Universität Heidelberg. Speakers include HAUS President Kathleen Lance, Vice-Rector for International Affairs Prof. Dr. Marc-Philippe Weller, and Amanda Daquila and Melanie Grossmann of Heidelberg University Association.

Register here

 


 

Wednesday, October 14

9am Pacific/12pm Eastern/18.00 MEZ
1 hour

 

Election Experts: Predicting the Transatlantic Future (Wunderbar Webinar)

Upcoming elections in the United States and Germany will have an impact on the relationship between the two countries. Heidelberg alumnus Dr. Steven Sokol will moderate an expert panel of German and U.S. policymakers and analysts to discuss possible outcomes and and the future of the transatlantic relationship. The lecture was organized in collaboration with alumni of German-American exchange programs as part of the Wunderbar Webinars under the auspices of Wunderbar Together 2020.

Register here 

*Please select the October 14th event to register for for this event. HAUS members are also welcome to register for any of the other Wunderbar Webinars that may be of interest to them.

 



Thursday, October 15

10am Pacific/1pm Eastern/19.00 MEZ
1 hour

 

The Latest from Heidelberg Alumni International

HAI staff joins us from Heidelberg for updates from the world of Uni Heidelberg alumni community.

Register here 




Ongoing

 

Online Giving Day

On October 18, 1386, Universität Heidelberg officially opened its doors to the first students. We will honor this historic date once again with our annual, online fundraising drive.

Thanks to a generous donor, all contributions made to the Amirana Scholarship Fund will be matched up to $5000 now through October 18th.

Since the HAUS 13th National Meeting is free to all this year, please consider donating the typical HAUS member registration fee of $100.

Donate here

 

Donations may also be submitted by a check made out to "Heidelberg University Association." Please mail checks to:

Heidelberg University Association

871 United Nations Plaza

New York, NY 10017




Universität Heidelberg Neck Gaiter

Instead of the usual T-shirt, we have official Uni Heidelberg Multifunktionstücher for the 2020 HAUS National Meeting. Great for working out, masking up, and much more.

Buy now

 



HAUS Membership Drive

Do you know someone who spent at least a semester in Heidelberg who is in the U.S. or from the U.S.? Please invite them to join HAUS and share the registration link below!

Register for HAUS here

 


 

 

Contact Information:
Heidelberg University Association
871 United Nations Plaza
New York, NY 10017
Phone: 1-212-758-3324
E-mail: Info(at)HeidelbergUniversity.us
www.HeidelbergUniversity.us































































to top of page
Contact: Email












NEWS

Online Giving Day is October 18th! Make your gift today.

Register for the HAUS 13th National Meeting!

Get your Uni Heidelberg neck gaiter here.



EVENTS



Browse Past Events ...

Data Protection Policy